How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
Post Reply
darthclide
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:25 pm

How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by darthclide »

I am unsure if I need to buy more cables or buy potato, but here is what I hoped for:

The ability to route chrome audio, game audio, teamspeak audio into voicemeeter, BUT also route this same audio to my headset without entering any virtual cables or voicemeeter.

The reason I want this is that my Xonar Essence STX sound card does not give the most crisp audio I am accustomed to when routed through your software. I assumed I could just change the interface through Windows settings for each application, but even when I set them to "Speakers (ASUS Xonar Essence STX Audio Device)" unclicking A1 under VAIO in banana still results in audio being muted. I am now wondering if it is possible to do what I want?
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by Vincent Burel »

sorry, it is not possible to help on these kind of question without a screenshot
darthclide
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by darthclide »

Well I can't really do a screenshot since I am asking about a plan. Is it possible to "split" the audio so that all desktop audio comes to my headset without going through voicemeeter? But at the same time this audio goes into voicemeeter to be modified?
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by Vincent Burel »

with Voicemeeter you are expected to connect all to Voicemeeter (sources and outputs).
Voicemeeter Banana or Potato BUS will help you to route your audio into different output or applications (possibly with different volume or master equalization).
Andres
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 7:25 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by Andres »

Hi. Some general comments:
darthclide wrote:The reason I want this is that my Xonar Essence STX sound card does not give the most crisp audio I am accustomed to when routed through your software.
Voicemeeter allows you to select different interfaces to capture and playback audio: WDM, MME, KS and ASIO. The differences in audio quality you mention could be related to the interface used when audio is routed through Voicemeeter compared to the scenario where audio is sent directly to your audio card. Could you please provide additional information about the configuration used in Voicemeeter?
darthclide wrote: Is it possible to "split" the audio so that all desktop audio comes to my headset without going through voicemeeter? But at the same time this audio goes into voicemeeter to be modified?
Your audio card driver provides a recording device called Stereo Mix which allows you to capture the audio that is being played through your audio card playback device. You can select Stereo Mix in any of the Voicemeeter Hardware Inputs and capture what you are listening through your headphones.
darthclide
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by darthclide »

Your audio card driver provides a recording device called Stereo Mix which allows you to capture the audio that is being played through your audio card playback device. You can select Stereo Mix in any of the Voicemeeter Hardware Inputs and capture what you are listening through your headphones.
So to confirm, there is no way to send audio directly to my headset at the same time as sending it through voicemeeter? The best I found was WDM at default 512. But setting aside it's lack of quality I am accustomed to, all audio on the computer stops for .5 seconds every 30 minutes or so. So unless any of you can give me a way to give unmodified data from my soundcard to my headset, I guess I will have to give up on virtual audio cables again. (I check on it every few years)
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by Vincent Burel »

when you select a device or audio interface (WDM, Ks, MME, ASIO) it is expected to work 100% 24/7
if not, it simply means it does not work, and you have to select another interface or another device.
to find a working configuration can ask for some investigation and test sometimes.
darthclide
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by darthclide »

So you are suggesting I make a new thread asking about how people managed to get the Asus Xonar Essence STX to give 99.9999% of the quality I am used to through voicemeeter?
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How to route audio to my headset untouched by voicemeeter or virtual cables?

Post by Vincent Burel »

no but you may try to manage it by the MME interface maybe.
Post Reply