[DEV] using raspberry pis to transmit via vban

VB-Audio Network Protocol and applications
hex_1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:38 pm

[DEV] using raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by hex_1 »

Good afternoon can anyone tell me how to use https://github.com/quiniouben/vban, i have got it sat in the downloads folder on a brand new raspberry pi3 and really want to be able to do it before I do my next filming next month
thanks hex_1
hex_1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by hex_1 »

update i have it installed on my pi butand it will recive a transmsion from my computer but it cannot trannsmit when i use [vban_emitter -i 192.168.1.75 -p 6980 -s b1 -n 1 -c 1 -b alsa -r 48000] it gives me error [Error: alsa_read: snd_pcm_writei failed: Input/output error
Error: alsa_read: snd_pcm_writei failed: Input/output error
Segmentation fault]
thanks in advance hex_1
brickviking
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:07 am
Location: Here, of course!

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by brickviking »

I won't answer for the Voicemeeter author, but the application you downloaded is (probably) written by a different person. You have to approach them (or the community associated with them) for support for that open-source program. Some communities are really good and will help you as best they can, and the software looks like a good idea.

If the actual situation is different, then the VoiceMeeter author can correct me. (I'm used to that... heh.)

(Post 15)
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by Vincent Burel »

yes but it's the right place for this question... Benoit will come to reply soon.
quiniouben
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by quiniouben »

Hi all, @hex_1 : this is a correct place, or alternatively, you can open an issue in the github project.
To have a better idea of the trouble, you could try to add -l4 option to your command line.
That you have an alsa_read error may tell us the configuration you are trying to use, your device cannot support (48kHz, mono, 16bit (default)).
Could you check if you can open this device with aplay and same configuration ?
That you reach a Seg fault is very unexpected : have you cross-compiled or compiled directly on the raspberry pi ?
Anyway, we will find a solution.
hex_1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by hex_1 »

i compiled on the same pi i have added -l4 and it is giving this error [ Info: socket_open: opening socket with port 6980
Info: socket_open with port: 6980
Info: audio_init: config is direction in, backend alsa, device , buffer size 1024
Info: audio_backend_get_by_name: found backend alsa
Info: audio_set_map_config: new map config is nb channels 1
Info: audio_set_stream_config: new stream config is nb channels 1, sample rate 48000, bit_fmt 16I
Fatal: alsa_open: open error: No such file or directory
Error: audio_set_stream_config: could not open backend with new config
]
hope this means something to you
thanks hex_1
quiniouben
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by quiniouben »

Sorry for delay, I forgot to enable notifications.
Well, at least, it is more fair, it tells you it cannot open the device.
Then it could be something like there is no device defined as default in your alsa configuration.
One way to test this idea would be to use the exact device name with option -d.
To get the device name "arecord -L" is a good tool.
hex_1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by hex_1 »

i have used arecord -L and it has given me a long list which part should i use

Code: Select all

arecord -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default
sysdefault:CARD=Microphone
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
dmix:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=Microphone,DEV=0
    Logitech USB Microphone, USB Audio
    Hardware device with all software conversions
thanks hex_1
quiniouben
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by quiniouben »

Hi,
So, it seems to confirm the lack of defined default device, as if I do the same on my PC I have the following at the bottom of this message, where default is having a description and says which is default.
I would start trying with "-d sysdefault"

Code: Select all

$ arecord -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC3266 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC3266 Analog
    Front speakers
hex_1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: useing raspberry pis to transmit via vban

Post by hex_1 »

i have added -d sysdefalt and it hasn't made any change
Post Reply