Multi Channel Recording using VAC's?

MT32-Sound Pad Lite
Post Reply
Mack92011
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:46 pm

Multi Channel Recording using VAC's?

Post by Mack92011 »

Hey there!

Maybe I've missed this within the documentation, but is there a way to use MT32 as a multi-channel recorder using the VAC's?

For example, what I'm hoping to do is have 1 stereo track for VAC-A, 1 Stereo for VAC-B, 1 track (doesn't matter if stereo or mono) with VAC-C, and another track (Doesn't matter here either) with VAC-D. I need the tracks to be recorded and exported separately for mixing. I also use Voicemeeter Potato, but it seems to congregate the tracks into a single recording.

Is this possible using the MT32?

If not, are there any programs/DAW/Software that you would recommend?

Thanks so much! - Mackenzie
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Multi Channel Recording using VAC's?

Post by Vincent Burel »

Mutlichannel recording is possible trhough different workflow:

1- The Voicemeeter Integrated Recorder allow to record a BUS in multichannel (up to 8 tracks). This BUS can be in COMPOSITE mode to get 8 different input channels of Voicemeeter. See COMPOSITE MODE in Voicemeeter Banana User Manual: https://vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/Voicem ... Manual.pdf

2- Connect and ASIO application to Voicemeeter Virtual ASIO driver to get the 8 channel of the related virtual BUS. This BUS can be in COMPOSITE mode to get 8 different input channels of Voicemeeter. See CASE STUDY #3 Voicemeeter Standard User manual: https://vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/Voicem ... Manual.pdf

3- MT32-SPLITE can also be used like previously discribed, but can be better connected to Voicemeeter Virtual ASIO Insert driver to get all Pre-fader input of Voicemeeter. This is the regular MultiTrack Recorder + Mixing Console workflow, because the recorder can record all inputs, and plays them back inline inside the mixer (as they where coming from the input sources), possibly to make Re-Recording / dubbing / Multi Take Workflow...
Mack92011
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:46 pm

Re: Multi Channel Recording using VAC's?

Post by Mack92011 »

There is a reason I always look at your software first!

Thank you. I'll give this a shot and let you know if I run into any issues. Otherwise, until then, enjoy your weekend. :)
Mack92011
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:46 pm

Re: Multi Channel Recording using VAC's?

Post by Mack92011 »

Vincent Burel wrote: Sat Jun 12, 2021 9:13 am Mutlichannel recording is possible trhough different workflow:

1- The Voicemeeter Integrated Recorder allow to record a BUS in multichannel (up to 8 tracks). This BUS can be in COMPOSITE mode to get 8 different input channels of Voicemeeter. See COMPOSITE MODE in Voicemeeter Banana User Manual: https://vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/Voicem ... Manual.pdf

2- Connect and ASIO application to Voicemeeter Virtual ASIO driver to get the 8 channel of the related virtual BUS. This BUS can be in COMPOSITE mode to get 8 different input channels of Voicemeeter. See CASE STUDY #3 Voicemeeter Standard User manual: https://vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/Voicem ... Manual.pdf

3- MT32-SPLITE can also be used like previously discribed, but can be better connected to Voicemeeter Virtual ASIO Insert driver to get all Pre-fader input of Voicemeeter. This is the regular MultiTrack Recorder + Mixing Console workflow, because the recorder can record all inputs, and plays them back inline inside the mixer (as they where coming from the input sources), possibly to make Re-Recording / dubbing / Multi Take Workflow...
This worked PERFECTLY! Voicemeeter and VB for the win.
Post Reply