VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
Post Reply
richardu
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:00 am

VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by richardu »

My HTPC (Win7-32) outputs to a variety of TVs through a matrix switcher. Some TVs have 5.1 amp nearby, others are only stereo. Enter VoiceMeeter Banana!

After installing VB, I configure the VoiceMeeter Input as shown below. Everything sounds okay, but If I change the Speaker Setup (Control Panel / Sound) to 5.1 Surround, some of my recordings sound like they are missing channels even on my 5.1 amps.

First: Am I failing to pass through 5.1 audio by having the speaker setup to Stereo?

Second: Is there any better way for me to be set up than what I am doing?

Third: If anyone else is doing the same thing, I hope this is useful to you.

Thanks,

Richard

Speaker Setup (Control Panel / Sound / VoiceMeeter Input / Configure)
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by Vincent Burel »

i don't know if i understand well the question, but
on Stereo BUS i recommend to use MIX DOWN B maybe
(instead of A that could remove some sound from rear speaker).

MIX DOWN A (Processing)
LEFT = FL + (70% FC) + SW + RL - SL
RIGHT = RL + (70% FC) + SW - RR + SR

MIX DOWN B (Processing)
LEFT = FL + (70% FC) + SW + RL + SL
RIGHT = RL + (70% FC) + SW + RR + SR

REM: to manage 5.1 signal you must configure Voicemeeter Virtual Input in 5.1
richardu
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:00 am

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by richardu »

Here is the System Settings Page

I have both stereo and 5.1 sources, and need to output stereo and 5.1 at all times.

How should I set that up?

Thanks.

Image
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by Vincent Burel »

ok, but your 2 output devices are running in stereo
"ch:2" means the device is openned in stereo.
you must configure one in 5.1 (in Windows Control Panel / Sound Dialog Box -> button configure).
richardu
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:00 am

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by richardu »

Okay. But When I go to (in Windows Control Panel / Sound Dialog Box -> button configure)
The configure button is disabled for my SPDIF and Optical outs. I confirmed that with three computers, two Realtec and one VIA. I also looked in the Realtec and VIA audio settings and there was no way to specify 5.1 there either. Ironically, I can specify my Speakers output as 5.1, but I'm guessing that would output 5.1 in analog and I need it in digital. I need the Speakers output for stereo analog.

Any thoughts?

Thanks, Richard
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by Vincent Burel »

for digital output, the option can be in the specific control panel of the related audio device.
Don't you have a 5.1 DTS option somewhere in your audio board control panel ?
heavenlot
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 1:40 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by heavenlot »

Hi, test with it:

Inside Windows Audio Panel:
Set the configuration to 5.1 in Voicemeeter VAIO to 5.1 and set this output as default.

Inside Voicemeeter Banana:
Set the Digital audio output to A1 as normal mode.
Set the Stereo audio output to A2 as Mix Down B.

Test with a 5.1 source in DD or DTS. You must see 5 monitoring lines moving with the sound under Voicemeeter VAIO AND A1. A2 must have only 2 lines.

PS: By default, Windows use pcm 2.0 audio stream on digital output. So Make sur your source is sending 5.1 signal.

PS2: For permanent 5.1, you need an encoding like DD Live or DTS Connect or a third party app. In my case, my PCIE soundcard do the job with a redirection -> the yellow curve.

Check inside your soundcard driver app or manual for further information and how to use your digital output if necessary.
Attachments
Sans titre.jpg
Sans titre.jpg (251.63 KiB) Viewed 33428 times
richardu
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:00 am

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by richardu »

heavenlot wrote:Hi, test with it:
Thanks. I am finally able to get back to this and your post fills in a few details. Bottom line: my on-board audio system will not allow me to Configure s/pdif to anything but stereo output. So I either need to find a cheap audio card, or give up on this plan. I'll happily listen to recommendations for audio cards.
Thanks, Richard
heavenlot
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 1:40 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter Banana Dual Output

Post by heavenlot »

I guess you have Realtek integrated chip, I heard that some of them got this restriction. Have you tried different driver versions?

i've got the same issue with one TV with audio through HDMI via Nvidia High Definition Audio. She support DD 5.1 but the nvidia driver let me set stereo only.

I have a Creative Soundblaster Z (bulk Edition, PCIe 2.0 x1) bought for 30€ on ebay. She's nice, but have some latency (avg 20-30ms) and the asio driver is really bad.
If you only use the s/pdif, you can chose any low cost card that has the minimum required hardware that you want (toslink / coaxial) & supported codecs you search (DTS, Dolby Digital, 16bits/ 24bits, XXXKHz).
Dolby digital live or dts connect or both for permanent 5.1 is a plus (with or without emulation like dolby pro logic).
EAX can be great for old games audio spacialisation.
Post Reply