[Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
JBP
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: [Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

Postby JBP » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:12 pm

I have written so much already in the other thread, that I guess you (or better we) have overlooked an important audio device independant usage of Volumouse.

:arrow:
1. Disable hooking in Voicemeeter completely!!!

2. Select any Mixer Device in Volumouse (it is irrelevant for our alternative setup)

3. Select "Send Hot keys" as Component in Volumouse

4. Press "More"" to open Advanced Rule Options in Volumouse. -> Mixer Device: "Default Mixer Device In Volumouse"

5. At the left bottom of the page enter "Ctrl + F12" for Increase and "Ctrl + F11" for Decrease Hot Keys

6. Then enable (re-enable) in Voicemeeter "Hook Ctrl+F10,F11,F12 (For Level Output A1)"

Now you control Voicemeeter A1 output level with Volumouse independant of the audio device you actually use!

The only drawback this alternative method has:
Volumouse level indicator does not work!
Maybe a bug in Volumouse?
Ask Nirsoft if it is a bug and if they can fix it with an update!

I cannot give any advice for professional audio card with SPDIF.
You have to try different models.

user4711
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:57 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

Postby user4711 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:49 pm

send hot keys from volumouse is a good idea, but what should a level indicator in volumouse show because volumouse does not have any number.voicemeeter need output the levels.I have create a new feature request for volume level indicator when hook volume keys is use. when voicemeeter show level indicator then volumouse can work with hotkeys because voicemeeter show the level

I write to nirsoft some days ago before i write here. I get no answer. last update was from 2014. i guess the developer have give it up. many programs are written during study time. when study time is over then most miss time

now it it is clear that smaller buffers as 480 in MME not work on both sound devices i have

use HDMI output i have test longer time ago on my old PC with HDMI nvidia card, but not with voicemeeter. when use wdm exclusive i was not able to change sound volume. currently my PC have no HDMI output. i use onboard graphic and this have only DVI output



with volumouse on my win 10 i can use CTRL or alt or shift +wheel. but not middle mouse button, or left or right mouse button + wheel.
does this on your windows 7 work ?.

on my system when press middle button not over browser window the volume indicator display but rotate the wheel does not change the value

JBP
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: [Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

Postby JBP » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:43 pm

user4711 wrote:send hot keys from volumouse is a good idea, but what should a level indicator in volumouse show because volumouse does not have any number.
Yes you are right, sometimes I tend to understand better complex things, but have a problem to understand simple things.
user4711 wrote:with volumouse on my win 10 i can use CTRL or alt or shift +wheel. but not middle mouse button, or left or right mouse button + wheel.
does this on your windows 7 work ?
No problem here. All three additional mouse button options work on my Windows 7!


About noise with (my) Realtek onboard:

We also use 230V 50 Hz AC system in Germany.
Noise and crackles can be a problem (moving the mouse or generally with NVIDIA graphics cards, etc).
But practically I can only hear it when Realtek audio input is on and recording gain is higher than 4 percent.

When I mute Realtek audio input completely (with ZVolume Home 2006 freeware on my desktop), noise and crackles cannot be heard even at very high volume when listening to silence.
Not via speakers and even not with good quality headphones (Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro)!

Crackles only happen when I adjust Realtek output volume to very low settings (0 to 5 percent range).

To avoid noise it is very important to set Realtek input to the lowest possible recording gain.
I highly recommend 2, 3, maximal 4 percent input gain, not more!
You should always adjust gain at your analog source/mixer!

Quality wise, from a technical measurement perspective, this is of course still far away from professional high audio quality.
But for me and my home recording studio usage it is good enough.

Everyday human listening is not a technical process!
There are additional visional impressions and noise sources in your local environment that have much more impact to your subjective listening experience (plus feelings) than any noise floor of even the cheapest 50 cent AD/DA converter can have.

Listening to Pink Floyd while drinking a whiskey or eating a steak is completely different than drinking water or eating an apple.
What is the color of your girl-friend's skirt today?
Is she in the kitchen or in the bathroom?
Is it Tuesday or Saturday?
That has more influence to your listening experience than practical minimal technical differences between consumer electronic quality and professional quality.

But if you insist to be an audiophile 24 hours a day, then you have to pay the real price!

In the end different people have different needs.

"Subjectivity is objectve!"
(Woody Allen in "Love and Death")
Last edited by JBP on Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JBP
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: [Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

Postby JBP » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:12 pm

ImageHere you see the right top of my desktop.
The three sliders at the top are part of ZVolume Home 2006 using my own skin mod.
The green slider represents Realtek HD Output.
The blue slider represents SRS volume control.
And the red slider represents Realtek HD Input.

Volumouse controls SRS volume (blue slider) for all standard audio (media files etc.), but not for low latency ASIO playing and recording!

Freeware ZVolume Home 2006 is more a less the same as ZVolume Pro 3.44 (2003).

user4711
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:57 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Can MME output support smaller buffers as 480 ?

Postby user4711 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:41 pm

when i connect headphones direct to realtekoutput(without amplifier) i hear no noise. this noise happen because ground from computer is connect to the amplifier ground when analog output is use. when i use spdif cinch output then ground from computer and amplifier is connect too, and the noise is hear. I guess this noise are create from amplifier because there come spikes on the ground level due to computer power supply switching circuit. only solution is that ground from computer is not connect to amplifier with the optical spdif cable. problems have my old computer with other power supply too.

I use no expensive speakers and i use ik multimedia arc system. this give lots better sound, better as expensive speaker, becaue my room is not best. there need boost some low frequency and some need reduce. so that there happen no distortions i need reduce overal level about 8 db. this also let the noise increase because amplifier need more boost. and when use buffer size 480 samples in mme, the additional insert size of 480 samples make delay too.

the main problem is that volume control in voicemeeter show no level indicator. but i need this, because without have a number i hear too loud often. and later i get ear pain. I have also a db measure meter, and i see which number i need set on windows volume to make music that not more as healty 75 db happen.

really wy have voicemeeter no levelindicator as all other volume controller have.


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests