How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 983
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby Vincent Burel » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:07 am

sure, when we say "Pre-Fader" , it means before Intellipan, Comp, Gate...

But you are confusing the PRE-FADER Input of the Recording Option and the the PRE-FADER Channel Selection in COMPOSITE PATCH (in the Banana System Settings Dialog box).

The COMPOSITE PATCH is for COMPOSITE MODE, that can be applied to a BUS
(the Recorder will have to select a POST FADER Output BUS, but this BUS could be placed in COMPOSITE MODE to record pre-fader input finally).

please read user manual page 19 and 48
https://www.vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/Vo ... Manual.pdf

JBP
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby JBP » Tue Jan 15, 2019 10:51 am

Vincent Burel wrote:sure, when we say "Pre-Fader" , it means before Intellipan, Comp, Gate...
Sorry, that is the way it should be.
But at least with Potato 3.0.0.5 PRE-FADER includes Intellipan, Comp, Gate and ASIO INSERT!

Vincent Burel wrote:But you are confusing the PRE-FADER Input of the Recording Option and the the PRE-FADER Channel Selection in COMPOSITE PATCH (in the Banana System Settings Dialog box).
No, I am not confused.
The confusion is in Voicemeeter (Potato 3.0.0.5).
PRE-FADER (for PATCH COMPOSITE and in Tape Recorder, both) do not work correctly in terms of your given description of "pre-fader before Intellipan, Comp, Gate... "

It is broken!

The point is, if you are right, then this thread would not exist.
user4711 has described that he had used Tape Recorder with PRE-FADER input and the recording has included the ASIO INSERT.
Your advice of using PATCH COMPOSITE PRE-FADER instead will lead to the same problem, that ASIO INSERT is part of the recording.

Vincent, take one minute and try it!
I am not a beginner who is confusing Tape Recorder PRE-FADER with PATCH COMPOSITE PRE-FADER!

You are confusing what Voicemeeter PRE-FADER should do by your original intention and in theory with the reality of using it.

You have definetly (based on your own definition in your previous post) a PRE-FADER routing bug in Voicemeeter (Potato 3.0.0.5)! :!:

JBP
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby JBP » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:04 am

:arrow:
Use PATCH COMPOSITE PRE-FADER (!) for A1 speaker output.

Then move the Voice Color Panel slider for the Hardware Input (no BUS enabled, of course) you have selected for PATCH COMPOSITE PRE-FADER (!).

What happens? :?:

user4711
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 6:57 pm

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby user4711 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:33 pm

maybe you can do a example preference that work in this situation.

see screenshot i attach. I thought when i record on earliest connection possible (pre fader) then the signal is send to recorder before it is send to insert.
recorder inputs.jpg
recorder inputs.jpg (132.49 KiB) Viewed 1424 times

JBP
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:03 am

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby JBP » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:26 pm

@ user4711

My previous post was meant for Vincent Burel to accept that the PRE-FADER does not work correctly, not for you user4711!

Virtual Input is not the way!

You are using your microphone with Hardware Input 1 and Patch Insert (ASIO) as speaker correction (and it works).

Normally (in theory) using PRE-FADER INPUTS and Physical Input #1 is the way to record it without the Patch Insert (ASIO) or the more complicated method with Patch Composite that Vincent has described.

The problem is, it does not work, because PRE-FADER definition is corrupted (it includes the Patch Insert plus other FX).
It is a bug!
I wait for Vincent Burel to agree on that fact, before I post the workaround.


Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 983
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: How can with the voicemeeter tape recorder record without the insert disable ?

Postby Vincent Burel » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:45 am

JBP wrote:@ user4711

My previous post was meant for Vincent Burel to accept that the PRE-FADER does not work correctly, not for you user4711!

Normally (in theory) using PRE-FADER INPUTS and Physical Input #1 is the way to record it without the Patch Insert (ASIO) or the more complicated method with Patch Composite that Vincent has described.

The problem is, it does not work, because PRE-FADER definition is corrupted (it includes the Patch Insert plus other FX).
It is a bug!
I wait for Vincent Burel to agree on that fact, before I post the workaround.


ok, right, the PRE-FADER input is currently defined before FADER MUTE SOLO, but after INTELLIPAN, COMP, GATE...
I don't remember having modified something there since a long time, I'm going to check...


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests