Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
twinko
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:21 pm

Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby twinko » Sun Feb 03, 2019 6:32 pm

Hey about my setting:

I use VoiceMeeter Bananas (VMB) to manage my audio outputs.

I have 2 Output devices

1. A1 = Usb Headset
2. A2 = HDMI Receiver with attached TV

When i start up my pc A2 is noit available, ill turn it on later.
So A1 needs to be my headset, because if i put the receiver in A1 my Headset would not start playing sound (the Receiver device would flash red in VMB.

Thats why A1= HEadset A2=Receiver.
But if i turn on teh receiver afterwards i need to click "Restart Audio Engine" manualy to output sound throught A2(Receiver).

Does somebody knows a work around or solution, so i dont need to Restart Audio Engine by myself?

Would be very thankfull.
Sorry 4 my bad english. Feel free to ask if i described it in a weird way.
Regards

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby Vincent Burel » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:06 pm

no, for the moment there is no workaround for this problem.
since we don't get the information related to device re-plug or device switched on again, we cannot restart audio engine automatically.

twinko
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby twinko » Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:15 pm

Hey Vincent :)

thx 4 your fast reply!

But it does work if i put my AV receiver in A1.

Szenario:
1. Starting PC, PC is booted
2. Turning on receiver
3. Receiver is in A1
4. pressing "Restart Audio Engine" in VM
and at that point i can switch the receiver on and off and VM does the job automatically for me (restarting the audio engine).

OR can you explane a little more why it's not possible to detect?
Is this feature something you guys planing to implement?

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby Vincent Burel » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:55 am

Yes, because Voicemeeter can restart audio engine automatically when there is no running device as output A1...
but we can do this because output A1 device is the master device. If this device is not running, nothing else is running.

We cannot extend this process to other BUS or Input, because it would cut the stream on every audio engine restart attempt (every 5 seconds).

Again, we can do nothing on this problem, while we have not the information regarding the device re-activation or re-plugged status. This is not implemented in Windows audio API. or at least we found nothing that could let us know that a device has been switched on or re-plugged.

twinko
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby twinko » Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:56 am

Hey Vincent,

thank you for giving me some more details. Now im a little smarter :)
So there will be no solution.

1 last thought i had:
If i plug in an headphone jack, it will stay active, no matter whats on the other end. Is it possible to somehow link the headphone jack output to the output to my AV-receiver?

Regards

twinko
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Restart Audio Engine automatically with Hardware OUT A2

Postby twinko » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:04 pm

*friendly push* :)


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests