Rename Audio Devices

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
thusup
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Rename Audio Devices

Postby thusup » Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:48 pm

Is there a way to rename the audio devices installed by Voicemeeter Potato and the three virtual audio cables? I don't like how they're a mismatch of conventions because I'm constantly having to go figure out which is which. It would be nice if they were just
  • Voicemeeter VAIO A
  • Voicemeeter VAIO B
  • Voicemeeter VAIO C
and
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable A
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable B
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable C

The installation package doesn't have to be modified or anything since I know not everyone will want the change, but if anyone can help me make the changes on my system that would be appreciated.

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Postby Vincent Burel » Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:43 pm

thusup wrote:Is there a way to rename the audio devices installed by Voicemeeter Potato and the three virtual audio cables?


no, the voicemeeter VAIO's are named like this for history reasons

  • Voicemeeter VAIO
  • Voicemeeter AUX VAIO
  • Voicemeeter VAIO 3

and VB-CABLE like this

  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable
  • VB-Audio Cable A
  • VB-Audio Cable B

thusup
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Postby thusup » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:03 pm

No, that's blatantly not what they're called. You not only changed the name of every device to something that makes no sense, you also gave each device two different names for no reason.

Stock devices:
Image
This used to be called "VoiceMeeter Input" now every time I see it I think it's the first virtual audio cable.
Image
This should be called "VoiceMeeter Aux Input" now every time I see it I think it's the first virtual input.
Image
Every time I see this I think it's the second virtual input.

The devices also shouldn't have two names each. That's just mindblowingly obnoxious.

Again, since you didn't read my first post past the first sentence I'm not asking you to change the names in your shipped software package, I just want to change the names of my devices on my computer.

To confirm, this is from Windows' Device Manager:
Image

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Postby Vincent Burel » Tue Jul 09, 2019 9:06 am

wow, there is a problem, you may re-install Voicemeeter Potato correctly:

here it is what you should have:
VBAudioVirtualAudioPlaybackDevicesList.jpg
VBAudioVirtualAudioPlaybackDevicesList.jpg (45.69 KiB) Viewed 2548 times

thusup
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Postby thusup » Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:06 pm

Ok it was really screwed up. I've reinstalled.

I apologize for assuming this was intentional.


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests