Rename Audio Devices

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
Post Reply
thusup
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Rename Audio Devices

Post by thusup »

Is there a way to rename the audio devices installed by Voicemeeter Potato and the three virtual audio cables? I don't like how they're a mismatch of conventions because I'm constantly having to go figure out which is which. It would be nice if they were just
  • Voicemeeter VAIO A
  • Voicemeeter VAIO B
  • Voicemeeter VAIO C
and
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable A
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable B
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable C
The installation package doesn't have to be modified or anything since I know not everyone will want the change, but if anyone can help me make the changes on my system that would be appreciated.
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Post by Vincent Burel »

thusup wrote:Is there a way to rename the audio devices installed by Voicemeeter Potato and the three virtual audio cables?
no, the voicemeeter VAIO's are named like this for history reasons
  • Voicemeeter VAIO
  • Voicemeeter AUX VAIO
  • Voicemeeter VAIO 3
and VB-CABLE like this
  • VB-Audio Virtual Cable
  • VB-Audio Cable A
  • VB-Audio Cable B
thusup
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Post by thusup »

No, that's blatantly not what they're called. You not only changed the name of every device to something that makes no sense, you also gave each device two different names for no reason.

Stock devices:
Image
This used to be called "VoiceMeeter Input" now every time I see it I think it's the first virtual audio cable.
Image
This should be called "VoiceMeeter Aux Input" now every time I see it I think it's the first virtual input.
Image
Every time I see this I think it's the second virtual input.

The devices also shouldn't have two names each. That's just mindblowingly obnoxious.

Again, since you didn't read my first post past the first sentence I'm not asking you to change the names in your shipped software package, I just want to change the names of my devices on my computer.

To confirm, this is from Windows' Device Manager:
Image
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Post by Vincent Burel »

wow, there is a problem, you may re-install Voicemeeter Potato correctly:

here it is what you should have:
VBAudioVirtualAudioPlaybackDevicesList.jpg
VBAudioVirtualAudioPlaybackDevicesList.jpg (45.69 KiB) Viewed 3133 times
thusup
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: Rename Audio Devices

Post by thusup »

Ok it was really screwed up. I've reinstalled.

I apologize for assuming this was intentional.
Post Reply