VoiceMeeter / Cable settings per user?

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
adhawkins
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 5:22 pm

VoiceMeeter / Cable settings per user?

Postby adhawkins » Fri Jan 24, 2020 5:36 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to solve an issue I have with recording audio using the NVidia recording functions (ShadowPlay?) whereby I only want game audio to be recorded, and not some other audio (for example TeamSpeak output). Essentially, all I want to do is feed the TeamSpeak output to a 'virtual' input that isn't seen by NVidia, so isn't recorded. I then want to map this input and all the other Windows audio out to either the monitor speakers or (if connected) the USB headset.

It appears that a combination of VoiceMeeter and Virtual Cable will do this, but I'm not the only user of this PC, so don't want to require my 10 year old to have to understand how the mixer functions work in order to be able to play Roblox!

If I make changes to the routing of various applications and mixer settings etc., are these only applied to my account on the machine, or do they apply to all users of the PC? What I'm hoping is that I can make various customisations to the routing etc., but then when my daughter logs in all audio is just fed straight to either the monitor speakers, or USB headset if it's plugged in.

Thanks

Andy

SailCat
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:41 am

Re: VoiceMeeter / Cable settings per user?

Postby SailCat » Mon Jan 27, 2020 12:26 pm

This you can solve in Shadowplay itself.

Open Shadowplay with Alt+Z

go to Settings -> Audio

Change it to separate tracks:
Image

Actually I realised that if you don't use Voicemeeter you'll record Discord as well though.
So set your Discord to an alternative output (Voicemeeter Aux for example) so that it's not combined with the main/desktop stream.

Like so:
Image

adhawkins
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 5:22 pm

Re: VoiceMeeter / Cable settings per user?

Postby adhawkins » Mon Jan 27, 2020 12:54 pm

Thanks for the response, that's exactly what I'm now doing.

What I was hoping was the the Windows settings for default output were maintained on a 'per-user' basis. However, it appears that they're not.

This just means that after I'm finished, I need to remember to set the default output settings back to going straight to the speakers or headset. That way other users of the PC can just continue as normal.

Thanks for the response.

Andy


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests