Page 1 of 1

Voicemeeter Potato sends output to the wrong speaker if I use an ASIO device VS MME/WDM

Posted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 11:42 pm
by Black Magix
So here's an interesting problem. If I change Voicemeeter Potato to use ASIO with my Sound Blaster Z, sound now goes to the wrong output in 5.1

Speaker Tested -> Actual Output
Left -> Left Speaker
Right -> Right Speaker
Center -> Both rear speakers
Sub -> Both rear speakers.
Rear Left -> Center
Right Right -> (No output)

If I change to 7.1 (even though I have 5.1)
Rear left -> Center
Rear right; side left; side right -> (No output)

I honestly have no idea how to fix this. If I switch A1 back to WDM or MME everything works fine but as soon as I switch to ASIO, sound goes haywire. I haven't the slightest idea hot to even begin troubleshooting this.

Re: Voicemeeter Potato sends output to the wrong speaker if I use an ASIO device VS MME/WDM

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:56 am
by Vincent Burel
it's maybe a problem in ASIO interface then ? you may ask to the manufacturer...
or a patch / routing option in the ASIO control panel of your device ?

A workaround should be to use the Matrix 8x8 (installed with Voicemeeter) to re-distribute your 6 channels on new speaker layout...

Re: Voicemeeter Potato sends output to the wrong speaker if I use an ASIO device VS MME/WDM

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:27 am
by Black Magix
So I got things setup in the matrix 8x8, the problem is that I can't seem to seperate the rear speakers, if I send something to one rear speaker it's going to both.

Re: Voicemeeter Potato sends output to the wrong speaker if I use an ASIO device VS MME/WDM

Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:42 pm
by Black Magix
Vincent Burel wrote:it's maybe a problem in ASIO interface then ? you may ask to the manufacturer...
or a patch / routing option in the ASIO control panel of your device ?

A workaround should be to use the Matrix 8x8 (installed with Voicemeeter) to re-distribute your 6 channels on new speaker layout...


It was my encoder that was casuing the speakers to combine in the rear, fixed that. My last question is if there is a way to make the matrix settings persistent and not only be effective when the program is open.