Record Skype VM Banana

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
covertnerd
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:15 pm

Record Skype VM Banana

Postby covertnerd » Sat Mar 21, 2020 12:08 am

I have VM Banana with Virtual Audio Cables A,B,C and D. I use a Samson Q2U USB Mic and would like to record Skype calls using the recorder in VM Banana onto two separate tracks. I have tried a few configs but can't seem to get it to work, any ideas on how to configure VM?

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Record Skype VM Banana

Postby Vincent Burel » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:12 am

you may post a screenshot of Voicemeeter and let me know what you want to record.
the usual solution to record differents sources in different channel is to record a BUS in COMPOSITE MODE where you can define what voicemeeter input is in what channel...

covertnerd
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:15 pm

Re: Record Skype VM Banana

Postby covertnerd » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:58 pm

Thanks for responding, so far I can record my voice in one track, but can't get the caller to record. Here are my VM settings.


VM Skype settings.JPG
VM Skype settings.JPG (151.63 KiB) Viewed 169 times


VM Skype settings2.JPG
VM Skype settings2.JPG (109.09 KiB) Viewed 169 times


VM Skype settings3.JPG
VM Skype settings3.JPG (70.96 KiB) Viewed 169 times

covertnerd
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 3:15 pm

Re: Record Skype VM Banana

Postby covertnerd » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:59 pm

Here is my Skype setting if that helps

skype settings.JPG
skype settings.JPG (73.21 KiB) Viewed 169 times

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: Record Skype VM Banana

Postby Vincent Burel » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:36 pm

main problem: you have generated a feedback loop by connecting output A3 to Input 2 (with VB-CABLE B). This makes no sense.
so you may deselect VB-CABLE B on output A3 first.

so the Skype caller is expected to come in HARDWARE input 2 through VB-CABLE B (not use anymore by Voicemeeter output A3)

Since Skype is getting audio from CABLE-A , you may know that all what is assigne to BUS A2 (connected to VB-CABLE A) will go in Skype.
so you must switch off BUS A2 on the Skype caller strip (hardware input 2), otherwise Skype caller will get an echo on his own voice.

BTW: it's better to use Voicemeeter virtual I/O instead of VB-CABLE (VB-CABLE is made to help out in case you have not enought virtual I/O).


Return to “Voicemeeter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests