routing channels

VB-Cable A & B, HIFI-Cable, ASIO Bridge
Post Reply
slim
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:27 am

routing channels

Post by slim »

Actually my question doesn't quite fit into any one forum as I tried HiFi
cable and Voice meter.

So I want to swap the ASIO channels that the PC audio is output on (1
& 2) to a ASIO device driver. I've tried both the HiFi cable and voice
meter and neither work.

1) HiFi Cable: when I change the input channels the channel meters
show PC audio on 3 and 4 but it's not changed on the physical device
driver. They stay at 1 & 2.
2) VoiceMeter - I cannot manually change the A2 channels. When I open
the settings dialog the second box is 4 and the 1st increments each
time I open the dialog. Clicking on either resets them both to -. I
assume they should increment on click?

The physical driver is for a McMillen K-Mix. It uses channels 1 &
2 for Mic and LoZ inputs so if I want to mix with PC audio I need it to be
on other channels - eg 3 & 4

https://www.keithmcmillen.com/downloads/#kmix

I'm unable to find any other software that comes close to doing this
and while I used to do a lot of Win32 dev I've never attempted audio
drivers and don't really want to go down that rabbit hole. :)

Thanks
Andres
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 7:25 pm

Re: routing channels

Post by Andres »

Hi. How many Inputs and Outputs does ASIO Bridge show you when you select your K-Mix as ASIO device?
ASIO Bridge.png
ASIO Bridge.png (185.4 KiB) Viewed 3146 times
You can check all the output channels of your ASIO driver using ASIO Driver Tester: viewtopic.php?p=4259&sid=7748915fc7b3d1 ... ea3f#p4259
Go to ASIO Device menu and select your ASIO device. By default it generates a Sinus wave at 440Hz that is sent to all output channels.
slim
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:27 am

Re: routing channels

Post by slim »

Thanks Adres - I'll find out. I didn't get an email notification so did not know your reply was here.
slim
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:27 am

Re: routing channels

Post by slim »

@andres I can't see how to paste an image here but i do get the expected 8 channels showing

The tester does produce noise on all 8 channels and showed my I had accidently muted 3 & 4 in the mixer - D'oh. PC sound out on 3 & 4 works perfectly. Whoop!

FYI 10% callback error just keeps incrementing

#0001 DSP LOAD: nothing
#0002 ------------------------------------------------------
#0003 (64Bits) TEST DEVICE: K-MixUSBAudio ASIO Driver
#0004 PREPARE DEVICE: sr:96000 Hz / buffer: 1728 smp / in: 8 / out: 10
#0005 Latency: in:2112 smp / buffer: 1728 smp / out: 2880 smp / total: 70.00 ms
#0006 ASIO Buffer 0 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 1)
#0007 ASIO Buffer 1 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 2)
#0008 ASIO Buffer 2 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 3)
#0009 ASIO Buffer 3 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 4)
#0010 ASIO Buffer 4 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 5)
#0011 ASIO Buffer 5 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 6)
#0012 ASIO Buffer 6 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 7)
#0013 ASIO Buffer 7 / Input / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 8)
#0014 ASIO Buffer 8 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 1)
#0015 ASIO Buffer 9 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 2)
#0016 ASIO Buffer 10 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 3)
#0017 ASIO Buffer 11 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 4)
#0018 ASIO Buffer 12 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 5)
#0019 ASIO Buffer 13 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 6)
#0020 ASIO Buffer 14 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 7)
#0021 ASIO Buffer 15 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 8)
#0022 ASIO Buffer 16 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 9)
#0023 ASIO Buffer 17 / Output / type:18 / ASIOSTInt32LSB (Analog 10)
#0024 -----------------------------------------------------------
#0025 Performance Counter Frequency: +10.000.000
#0026 Performance Counter for one buffer: +180.000 (18.0 ms)
#0027 Performance Counter for 10%: +18.000
#0028 -----------------------------------------------------------
#0029 GENERATE SINUS: 440 Hz -10 dBfs
#0030 DSP LOAD: nothing
#0031 START DEVICE: Running

So a couple of strange things I noted. I'm routing PC main sound output to HiFi Cable (ie speaker icon in tray) but sound is coming from Plex app running in Firefox

* I get no sound unless ASIO Bridge is running - I did not expect that
* The master volume control does nothing put the Plex app does
* If I switch source back to K-mix driver then Firefox errors
* I need to close ASIO Bridge for sound to revert ot KMix driver, sometimes also need to restart Firefox

Anyway I have a useable solution - thanks for being the ONLY solution :)
Andres
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 7:25 pm

Re: routing channels

Post by Andres »

Hi. You could try to set this up using Voicemeeter Banana (Potato also supports this):
  • Select the ASIO option for your K-Mix from A1 Hardware Out selection list.
  • Set the Windows Default Output device to Voicemeter Input (VB-Audio VoiceMeeter VAIO). Use for example the Speaker icon in the notification area.
  • Route the Voicemeeter VAIO virtual input to the K-Mix using the ►A1 button
  • Change the routing mode to Composite for the A1 bus under MASTER SECTION
  • Open Voicemeeter System Settings / Options... window.
  • Under PATCH COMPOSITE section, select IN#4 Left and IN#4 Right in the third and fourth box respectively. Select an unused channel for the others.
Voicemeeter Banana A1 Composite ASIO output.png
Voicemeeter Banana A1 Composite ASIO output.png (117.93 KiB) Viewed 3088 times
PATCH COMPOSITE.png
PATCH COMPOSITE.png (70.67 KiB) Viewed 3085 times
Please let us know if this could be an option for you and if you need further assistance.
slim
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:27 am

Re: routing channels

Post by slim »

I'm all sorted using HiFi Cable, thanks. Sorry of that was not clear form my previous answer.

https://blog.fullmeasure.uk/2020/12/08/ ... 20Windows/

How do you post images? I can't see it anywhere?

Thanks for a very useful product
Post Reply