VBAN Stream on internet

VB-Audio Network Protocol and applications
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Vincent Burel » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:29 am

Even if not originally done for that, VBAN protocol can also be used on internet to transmit audio in high quality (PCM native), but it requires a fixed public IP address (at least fixed for the streaming time) and to configure your router.

You may know your public IP-Address and other information by numerous internet services:
Type “what is my ip” on Google (it will appear directly).

You may know your real internet speed rate (especially UPLOAD) to know what kind of VBAN Stream you can send (for example by this website: http://speedtest.att.com/speedtest/).

A PCM stream 24000Hz, 1 Channels, 10 bits requires 0.3 Mbps
A PCM stream 32000Hz, 2 Channels, 10 bits requires 0.7 Mbps
A PCM stream 44100Hz, 2 Channels, 16 bits requires 1.5 Mbps
A PCM stream 48000Hz, 2 Channels, 16 bits requires 1.6 Mbps
A PCM stream 48000Hz, 2 Channels, 24 bits requires 2.5 Mbps

On internet (& Wifi) reception, VBAN Network Quality parameter can be useful to keep a stable stream: set Net Quality to “slow” or “very slow” to increase the internal buffering on receptor side (outgoing stream can usually be sent with OPTIMAL network quality parameter).

They talk about this workflow (in french) on Radio-Actu forum:
https://libreantenne.radioactu.com/topic/29706-live-multi-studio/

Outside Broadcasting with VBAN (by using a VPN powered by Hamachi Application):
radio workflow explained in french https://youtu.be/Ha6bPHTWawc

Gwydion
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Gwydion » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:17 pm

I am very interested in using VBAN to stream audio directly from VMB over the internet. Right now I use VLC to stream over the internet. Do you know if a discussion location that discusses how to achieve this in English? Unfortunately my French is non-existent.. :D

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Vincent Burel » Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:47 am

yes, we just made a small picture explaining all the things around IP-Address Management to transmit a VBAN Stream (see below).

There is basically 2 points to know:

On transmitter side, you must send VBAN stream to public address of your destination.
(you may ask him his public ip address - just type "what is my ip address" in chrome for example).

On receptor side, internet router has to be configured to open the VBAN UDP port 6980.
(this is usually possible thanks to NAT/PAT rules or Port Transfer rule in the advanced/network configuration page of your router).

VBANStreamOnInternet.gif
VBANStreamOnInternet.gif (190.83 KiB) Viewed 2344 times

Gwydion
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Gwydion » Wed May 02, 2018 4:39 pm

Has anyone tried these setups? Just curious how the quality/latency has been. I've been using VMB in combination with Cleanfeed to stream sounds to my players (and broadcast using OBS) and it is working really well with excellent quality and very little to no latency. Just always intrigued by what all VMB can do!

Oh...and thanks so much for the diagram! Very helpful....

Gwydion
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Gwydion » Thu May 03, 2018 4:37 pm

So, I was just able to stream audio through VMB to a friend of my in Washington (I'm in Denver) using VBAN. I'm not sure exactly how practical it will be for me as its a little involved for the players, (I typically play D&D 5e online using Fantasy Grounds and VMB is the audio program I use along with Cleanfeed to stream sound to my players and it works great) but I will post a video on how I did it when I have a chance. Basically, I setup a ZeroTier account at http://www.zerotier.com. Then I created a network on ZeroTier which acts like a LAN. Its a very easy, free download. Once I connect with it and my players download the small program and connect to the network I set up, we are on the same virtual LAN. As long as when you connect to the virtual LAN you select "yes" to the popup of "do you want to allow your pc to be discoverable"... then everything seems to work. The nice thing is, once someone has connected to the virtual LAN, they are assigned the same internal IP address every time. So, I can go to my "outgoing streams" in VBAN and type in the internal ip address. Once I do that and tell the player to turn on VBAN in VMB (or VM), they see the incoming stream and can connect to it. Of course they could use VBAN receptor of VBAN lite as well if they happen to not have VMB or VM installed. To be clear, I didn't have to mess with port forwarding or opening any ports and I was able to do this from my office so it should work from a hotel or wherever.

On my first test, the quality seemed good for the player (short test though) even with the net quality as "fast" on his end. He does have very fast internet at home, though. Anyway, I have other solutions that are simpler for players (as mentioned above), but this is really cool in that if I wanted to I could stream my sounds at native quality directly out of VMB. I'm going to keep testing this just for fun as maybe this setup would work for some of you.

I'll post a link here to the video of how I set it up as soon as I have a chance to create the video.

Gwydion
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Gwydion » Fri May 04, 2018 8:41 pm

Quick update. I can get the VBAN to work over the network which is cool. But so far I can't get it stable enough to be better than my other setups. Makes sense as it is really intended to be used the way I'm trying. The sound is just somewhat inconsistent on the receiver. Choppy at times, at times good, etc.. I'll keep trying...

Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 579
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Vincent Burel » Sat May 05, 2018 4:37 pm

on receiver side, you may try to improve the things by changing NETWORK QUALITY parameters to "SLOW" for example.

Gwydion
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:54 pm

Re: VBAN Stream on internet

Postby Gwydion » Sun May 06, 2018 2:16 pm

Yeah, I've tried setting to slow or very slow. It works, but too choppy for trying this is a real game setting. I'll keep fiddling with it to see if I can figure something out. It works well when I'm on my "real" LAN, but given I'm trying this on a "virtual" LAN, I think I'm pushing what this is really intended to do. Pretty cool that I was able to get it to work at all! I wish I understood french as I would follow the video you linked to better! Since they are using Hamachi, I think it is similar to what I'm trying to do with zerotier.


Return to “VBAN Procotol”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest