No Incomming Stream

VB-Audio Network Protocol and applications
Post Reply
HGA1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2021 12:31 pm

No Incomming Stream

Post by HGA1 »

I have everything checked at least 10 times. I have two computer configuration, which should be simular, in case of the VB-Audio settings, but only one is working, the other one is not, but was working before. Both are vitual machines on the same hardware running under server 2022.
  • Both have static IPs in the 10.0.0.x area
  • Both getting the same stream from the same computer, on the same LAN
  • Both have the same setting for the firewall
  • Both have an visible info button on the Incomming Stream section
  • On both the VBAN Ping is working in both direction
  • On both the Info including the time stamp is correct
  • Both can send and receive VBAN Chat Room messages
  • Both can send streams
  • But only one is able detect an input stream
I am sure it is something with the system which can not receive the stream.
Is there anything additional I can do or test?
Thanks!
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by Vincent Burel »

could you post the 2x VBAN Dialog box screenshot ?
HGA1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2021 12:31 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by HGA1 »

This is the computer which sends the outgoing streams
This is the computer which sends the streams
This is the computer which sends the streams
PC-VBAN2.png (233.17 KiB) Viewed 1294 times
This is the computer, which cannot detect the incoming stream
This is the computer which does not detect the incomming stream
This is the computer which does not detect the incomming stream
Radio-VBAN2.png (48.19 KiB) Viewed 1294 times
This is the computer which detect the incomming stream
This is the computer which detect the incomming stream
This is the computer which detect the incomming stream
Country-VBAN.png (46.58 KiB) Viewed 1294 times
Vincent, thank you for the support!
If you need additional information, please let me know, Hans-Georg
HGA1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2021 12:31 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by HGA1 »

Hello Vincent,
I have investigated some time to find out, what could be the problem.

First my system configuration:
- LAN network 10.0.0.0
- Hyper-V server based on Win Server 2022
- A few client PCs

I try to connect a PC to a vitual computer under Hyper-V
1. Server based on 2022, was first working fine, until I graded it up to a domain controller. Than no incomming stream detected anymore.
2. After downgrade to a normal server, no incomming stream detected!
3. Win 10 as vitual machine (Gen 2). No incomming stream detected.
4. Win 7 as virtual machine (Gen 1). No incomming stream detected.
5. Setup of a new virtual server 2022. Everything works fine.

In generell everything is working fine with VBAN with the exeption of detecting incomming streams on the vitual machines.Even VBAN chat room and ping is working! Only the server operating system is working, as long as no upgrade to a domain server is done!
In the other direction, it is working fine! The incomming stream will be detected from the PC.

I don't know, what the problem could be. Maybe the virtual switch, which are used by the virtual machines?

I would be happy to support you, if you can send me instructions for indeep testing.
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by Vincent Burel »

usually, when VBAN ping and VBAN-Chat works, but not the audio stream, it means there is a Firewall in action.
you may check Windows or/and other firewall settings (be sure you have selected an audio device for the output A1).

warning xxx.xxx.xxx.0 and xxx.xxx.xxx.255 are broadcast address (usually not supported by Wifi Point)
HGA1
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2021 12:31 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by HGA1 »

Vincent, thanks für your help.
Maybe A1 could be a problem. The Voicemeeter and the VBAN are running on a server, where I don't have any physikal audio available! Therefore I installed e2eSoft, to have one interface available foe A1!
Is there any other possibility, which I could try?

A firewall problem I cannot detect. As I discribed above, the firewall settings are all the same and if I promote the server to a domain server, no incomming stream will detected any more. This is strange!
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1712
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: No Incomming Stream

Post by Vincent Burel »

Output A1 must be connected to an audio device otherwise the complete engine is not running.
if you have no physical device, you may install VB-CABLE and use it as output Device in Voicemeeter.
Post Reply