SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

The Virtual Audio Mixer discussions and support...
Post Reply
Atg
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:30 am

SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Atg »

SEL button state is not restored properly on Voicemeter restart. Demonstration - https://streamable.com/kbj2b The bug has been present since at least 3.0.0.8
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1434
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Vincent Burel »

SEL Button state is not saved ... it's not a bug because it's more a kind of user mode than a parameter...
but i m' going to think about... does it need to be saved ?...
Atg
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:30 am

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Atg »

Look around 0:19 in the video. Its not obvious that I click 3 times on SEL button. At first SEL mode is active (look at levels) but button is dark, 1 click - SEL mode is active and button is active, 2 click - no SEL mode (all levels are 0db) and button is dark, 3 click - SEL mode is active again. So if I shut down VoiceMeter with active SEL then after restart all my levels are in SEL mode, but button is dark.
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1434
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Vincent Burel »

all SEL button OFF is equivalent to all SEL buttons ON.
Atg
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:30 am

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Atg »

To make it clearer: I have changed faders levels on A1 SEL mode. On disabled SEL mode all faders are at 0db. So after restarting Voicemeter it should have either no active SEL buttons and all faders should be (in my example) at 0db OR it should have active SEL mode on A1 (in my example before I shutdown Voicemeter in my video) with correct faders levels. I personally would like that everything is restored on restart. I hope my description is not very confusing, here is video https://streamable.com/v8lap with better description
Atg
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:30 am

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Atg »

It looks like this bug is not fixed in 3.0.1.3. So I wrote a simple program that "re-select" bus. And made Task Scheduler to launch that program when Voicemeeter is launched. Maybe anyone else will find use for it. Example "VoicemeeterReSEL.exe 3" to select (reselect) bus A3 or just launch without any arguments to select bus A1. Source files are available if you don't trust random exe files from internet.
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1434
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Vincent Burel »

could you please re-precise the bug you are talking about?
knowing the fact that SEL button state are not saved in the settings file.
Atg
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:30 am

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Atg »

I have SEL on bus A1 and some adjusted sliders. I restart the Voicemeeter. The sliders are on the same positions, but no SEL mode at any buses (as shown in the video at 0:16 I posted before). I get confused by sliders positions and forget that actually no SEL mode selected, then I change slider -> reseting all previously adjusted slider positions for each bus SEL. I almost always have SEL mode on A1 and I dont want to click every time on same SEL button after restart so I wrote program that fixes that inconvenience. Whether this behavior is intentional or not I have already "fixed" that bug for myself.
Vincent Burel
Site Admin
Posts: 1434
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:01 pm

Re: SEL button bug in Voicemeter Potato

Post by Vincent Burel »

ok, i note that SEL button state could be stored as well in the configuration file...
Post Reply